## REPORT ON ANNUAL SPORTS DAY

"One man practicing sportsmanship is far better than a hundred teaching it"
(Knute Rockne)







The Annual Inter-House 157<sup>th</sup> Athletic Meet of the Senior School and Junior College was held on Friday, 8<sup>th</sup> December 2023 at 9:30 am on the AFMC Ground. This is the first year where the Sports Meet had to be conducted outside the School premises, as the Jeejeebhoy Ground was unavailable due to the artificial turf laid where the athletes were unable to use the spikes. Hence, it was decided to shift the venue to the 400 mtrs synthetic track at the AFMC grounds. Children taking part in the march-past, races and relays had only two days practice on this track which the Dean of the AFMC was kind enough to allot to The Bishops School

The Chief Guest for this function was Mr. Pheroz Pudumjee, Director and President of Thermax Ltd. The meet started with a grand opening march-past by all the four houses and the Junior College squad with the army band leading the marching squad. Mr. Pudumjee declared the meet open by releasing balloons and an

inspirational speech. Various races for U/12, U/14, U/17, U/19 and girls categories along with parents and visitors race, support staff race and invitational relays were conducted on this 400 mtrs synthetic track. Medals and Trophies were given by the Chief Guest and the Principal to the winners of all divisions. Special awards were given to the best athletes in each division along with the march-past and Tug-O-War trophies. The overall results of the meet was as follows:

ử ở ở ở ở ở ở ở ở ở ở ở ở ở ở ở ở ở ở





Shlok Vyas - Victor Ludorum (Division 4)
Shikar Shah - Victor Ludorum (Division 3)
Abeer Rai - Victor Ludorum (Division 2)
Prithviraj Lawande - Victor Ludorum (Division 1)
Anishka Malaani Victor Ludorum (Cirls)

Anishka Malpani - Victor Ludorum (Girls)

Hitaansh Khatri - Best Sportsman (Shine Forth Evermore)

Prithviraj Lawande - Fastest boy of the Meet – 100 Mtrs. (Malhotra

Trophy)

Bishop's House (Boys) - Tug-O-War (Monty Sidhu Memorial Trophy of the

1987 batch)

Mansfield House (Girls) - Tug-O-War (Monty Sidhu Memorial Trophy of the

1987 batch)

Abeer Rai (Boy) - Best Sports Person of the Highest Scorer -New

Trophy (1977 Anishka Malpani (Girl)Batch)

Marchpast - Mansifled House (1st Place)

Bishops House (2<sup>nd</sup> Place) Arnould House (3<sup>rd</sup> Place) Harding House (4<sup>th</sup> Place)

Shield for Sub-Juniors - Harding House (Division 4) Shield for Juniors - Harding House (Division 3)

Shield for Seniors - Harding House (Division I & 2 & Girls)

Overall Championship - Arnould House (1<sup>st</sup> Place) (Talera Trophy) - Mansfield House (2<sup>nd</sup> Place) - Bishops House (3<sup>rd</sup> Place)

Harding House (4th Place)





The meet culminated with a Vote of Thanks by the Sports Captain and speech by the Chief Guest. After the lowering of the School Sports Flag which followed by the school song and National Anthem. The entire programme went off very smoothly with the combined effort and guidance of the Principal, Headmaster, Coordinators and the entire sports departments. It was well appreciated by the Guests, Parents and the management of Bishops Education Society.

The purpose of the meet was to promote sportsmanship, perseverance, discipline, and teamwork among the students and to encourage more students get involved in sports and make it a significant part of their life.



Ramesh Bendre Sports Secretary